Waterman’s Phileas

4 06 2009

It’s been too long since I’ve written anything here, so I need to get back in the game. I broke out another of my “starter” pens the other day, a Waterman Phileas in blue marble finish.

This really is a fantastic pen! It’s also (I think) very under-rated. You just don’t see a lot written about it, though what you do find, is generally very positive. I got this pen about 12 years ago, and it’s seen a lot of use in my rotations.

Figure 1- It sticks out in the crowd

My first impression of this pen is that it’s strikingly handsome……Until you look closely. Not that it’s ugly at all (I just said it was handsome), but there are some things about it that make it look a bit cheap in my opinion. First, the pen sports a gold ‘cigar band’ close to the posting end of the pen, that’s been crimped on. It’s not a solid band, if it were, it would make a lot of difference in it’s looks. Second the blue marbling effect looks better from a distance than up close. To me, it’s just a bit cheesey looking. But make no mistake, this is NOT a cheap pen. The quality is extremely good.

Figure 2 – Phileas Nib

The nib is a beautiful two-tone stainless number, mine, in a fine point. And it really is a fine point. A lot of modern pens with a nib labeled ‘fine’ tend to be more towards the medium end of the spectrum. I’ve run all kinds of inks through this pen, and no matter how long it’s been sitting capped, it always starts an immediate fine, wet line. Again, my experience has been that many fine-pointed nibs will tend to have some slight problems getting started after long periods of not being used.

When I acquired my pen years ago, I think I paid about $45; Fountain Pen Hospital has them for $55. A great deal for a pen of this caliber.

Figure 4 – Cigar Band, Looks good from the front

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 06 2009
Penlover5

Similar to you, I get all nostalgic when I rediscover an old fine pen that I had almost forgotten about. I love the excitement of learning the uniqueness of the pen all over again, just like using it for the first time. Each pen brings something different and fascinating whether in the way it writes, by the style on the nib or any other aspect of the pen. Like you, I also have a fondness for Waterman Pens. They have always been reliable for me, and I just recently received a pen in the Waterman Expert Collection as a gift and it writes wonderfully. I look forward to reading your blog in the future!

Penlover5

9 10 2009
D. J. Dutton

We had this pen at Staples for $38 for the longest time – when I finally found out what a deal this was we changed the price to $54. Oh well…

22 10 2011
Rocco Calabrese

I am looking for a replacement nib for a Waterman Phileas fountain pen.

Please reply to:

therockiii@aol.com

Leave a Reply

