The Pelikan Has Landed

16 03 2016

There really are kind people in the world. That may seem like a “duh” statement, but it seems we ju20160316_143955.jpgst don’t run into kindness – real kindness – in today’s society too often. Certainly, not often enough.

A few years ago, the church I go to (shout out Vineyard of Lexington!) did a series on kindness and “paying it forward”. It was a sermon series that really hit home for me, but at the time, I couldn’t do much to act on it. Oh, I could be kind, sure, but at that time, I had just been laid off from my job, facing bankruptcy, and just scrambling to try and hold things together. Now skip forward 6 years, I’m in a new career, and things are much better. I do try to be kind, but alas I’ve failed to do much paying it forward. Thanks to Erin Gooch with the Fountain Pen Network group on Facebook, I had the opportunity to participate in a little pay-it-forward kindness this week.

Early last week, Erin posted pictures of a limited edition yellow (and I mean Y  E  L  L  O  W) M200 fountain pen. Very eye-candy-catching pictures. Turns out it was for a give-away contest she was doing for that pen. Note, I said she was doing, not some company she works for. Just her. All you had to do to enter was comment on the pictures; she would choose the winner at random from among those folks who had commented. The winner would receive the pen. But wait……here’s the REALLY cool part. A second name would also be drawn, and the 1st winner had to agree to send the 2nd winner some kind of pen themed package. So I commented.

You see where this is going, don’t you?

I won.

Here’s what came in the mail today:

 

20160316_144200.jpg

Sah-Weet!!!!

20160316_144321.jpg     20160316_144259.jpg

20160316_144535.jpg

Winner #2 was Xi Lu, from India. After some correspondence, I found out that he hadn’t yet had any experience with vintage pens, so he’s got something coming….. I started to post pictures of his care package, but that would ruin his surprise as it hasn’t had time to reach him yet. Once I hear from him, I’ll post those as well.

So to Erin Gooch over on Facebook / Fountain Pen Network group,

THANK YOU!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

